The meaning of the Regional Grand Lodges in India

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

The meaning of the Regional Grand Lodges in India

For sake of better and efficient administration the entire area under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of India was divided into four Masonic Regions. The details of areas under each Region are given in Rule 53 of BoC.

Rule 58 provides as to who are to be considered as members of the Regional Grand Lodge and Rule 72 says that each Regional Grand Lodge has the power and authority to frame by-laws for its own government. This has resulted in differing by-laws of the four Regions in India. It should, however, be noted that that no by-law of the Region or any daughter Lodge can be valid if the same is not in conformity with the provisions of the BoC. Examples of this are – black-balling of a candidate for initiation or joining and operation of bank accounts.

Contribution of Brother Sumit Agarwal, Masonic Vibes founder and Correspondent of India's Masonic Magazine Square & Compasses


Post a Comment

Please use a proper language!

Copyright © Masonic Times of India
All materials contained on this site are protected by copyright law. You may not reproduce, distribute, transmit, display, publish or broadcast the information contained within this website without our consent.